Call us now ! Send us an email http://maps.google.com/maps?q=42 Greenfield Ave San Anselmo United States

Back to Top

Call Us Today!
(415) 454-8600

Testimonials

Yelp.com


Yelp Testimonials updated 1-31-2016

********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
Ken F.
San Rafael, CA
1-26-2016
An update, now two years later....
We noticed that one of our new skylight was developing a few cracks along the edge in the dome itself. I gave Ladd a call and heard back from him within a few hours, making an appointment for him to come look at it that very afternoon. Even with the good experience I had on the first round -- this really impressed me!
Ladd took a look, took some photos, dealt with the manufacturer, and had the unit replaced within a few weeks (had to be custom manufactured to size).  I am so happy I chose to go with Ladd/Mr. Skylight for this project. Have dealt with several other contractors on numerous projects over the past few years and truly wished all had his sense of professionalism, pride and service. Thank you good Sir!

********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
Lane K.
Mill Valley, CA
6/9/2015
Thanks to "Mr. Skylight" for installing three new operable skylights  - one custom built - in our new home.  Fast, friendly and excellent quality.
********************************************************************************************
5 Stars
Gary from San Rafael, CA
5/15/2015
Ladd was very punctual in getting us a quote and also on the timing of the job to install 2 skylights.  Very happy with quality of work the the new product in our house.

Would absolutely recommend Ladd for skylight needs.
********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Shirley H.
Petaluma, CA

10/13/2014
We are so happy with our 2 new kitchen skylights, 2 replacement skylights and a sun tube.  Kudos to Mr. Skylight and his crew!  He was thorough, efficient, neat and tidy and completed the entire project within the time he estimated it would take.  He and his crew each morning sealed off the affected area and cleaned up at the end of the day so we could continue to use our kitchen throughout the project.  He also did electrical work to accommodate new ceiling lighting and sconces.  Of great importance to us was that Mr. Skylight himself  was on the job everyday, all day til completed, doing the majority of the work himself.  He is responsive, methodical and does excellent work.  We recommend him and his business.
********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Penny P.
San Rafael

9/26/2014
Ladd Bogdonoff, Mr. Skylight, recently replaced four skylights for me.  He responded quickly to my telephone calls and the job was completed within a couple of weeks start to finish, from production of the estimate, ordering of the skylights and then the installation.  The old skylights were removed and the new ones installed - with absolutely no mess or disruption.  He placed tarps underneath each skylight and cleaned up perfectly.  He and his crew worked quickly and efficiently - and were a pleasure to deal with.  I would recommend his work.
********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Gwen G.
Woodacre

9/19/2014

Ladd was a consummate professional from start to finish. He advised us well, delivered exceptional work, explained everything so we could understand it, found a great deal for us, took extra care to make sure our floors and furniture were protected, finished on time, made sure we got a rebate, and always came in with a sparkle in his eyes. It was a pleasure working with him.

********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Kelly B.
Corte Madera

9/2/2014
Ladd was responsive and meticulous. He does great work. And he's fast! I found him to be very trustworthy and reliable--showing up when he said he would. We are so happy with our skylights!
********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Patti B. and Stan R.
Fairfax, CA (Canyon Village)

5/28/2014
Ladd did a great job in tight quarters. A challenging job, but all went exceedingly well.
We are delighted with our new skylight!
*********************************************************************************************
5 Stars

Shannon W.
San Anselmo, CA

1/27/2014

Mr. Skylight went above and beyond with replacing our old skylights.  He communicated often as to the whereabouts of our new shipment of skylights.  His quote was clearly laid out and the price was fair and competitive.  On site, he took great care in making the skylights look brand new (even though it was just the dome being replaced) and left the house as clean as when he got there.  I would highly recommend Mr. skylight.

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Ken F.
San Rafael, CA

12/6/2013
I feel like I am unmasking a superhero when I say that Ladd Bogdonoff is Mr. Skylight! We were looking to replace two old, cracked skylights in our home -- one in the kitchen and the other in the living room. I was impressed with Ladd from the first phone call as he listened to my wants and issues, offered advice and thoughts on possible solutions, and scheduled an appointment for that same afternoon. The most amazing thing was that he actually showed up on time! A true rarity for Marin county contractors!!
Ladd was very detailed in both examining our space and making recommendations that would solve our problems -- sweat from the current skylights, level of light in the house, operable units to increase summer air circulation, etc. Estimate came promptly laying out the full variety of options we had discussed. Ladd's professionalism, promptness, great communications made me feel very comfortable in contracting with him for the work.
Ladd's wonderful attention to detail was very evident during the installation as well. He looked over my entire roof, not just the openings for the skylights, offering a few tips and solutions unrelated to the work he was doing. He shared with me that he oversees each and every job on-site and is completely hands on. The install occurred on time, the detail work (he caulked and painted all the wood framing inside the house as well, making everything around the install look new and perfect) was impeccable, and he left my home cleaner than when he first arrived.
If you are looking for new skylights, or anything related, Mr. Skylight is indeed the way to go. Thanks again Ladd!
*********************************************************************************************


Gail S.
Inverness, CA

5 Stars

10/21/2013
Mr. Skylight and his crew are a delight.  The work they did was impeccable and their personal attention to detail, cleanliness, and the overall environment was truly special.  Excellent service, excellent work and a real pleasure.  Also extensive knowledge of the field, efficient consultation and prompt service. Five stars for sure.



Micheline A.C. (architect)
Gail S.
Inverness, CA

10/20/2013

5 Stars
Mr. Skylight  & his team are a joy to work with. Not only do they know what they are doing in the material realm, they are professionals that bring with them a quality of craftsmanship & personal presence that made our renovation a joy to be a part of. As an architect & design-builder, not only does one have to generate great ideas, but to also attract the right team to execute them. I am talking about a partnership at a high level where respect, proficiency & capacity to listen are part of the equation.  They brought with them a wonderful energy that was pleasant during & after completion of the project. Do not miss the opportunity to create magic, beauty & ventilation with Mr. Skylight!
*********************************************************************************************


Tom C.
Incline Village, NV and San Rafael, CA

9/18/2013

5 Stars
Mr. Skylight, Ladd, is great.  I called on Saturday afternoon to inquire about Sun Tubes.  Ladd offered to come over Sunday morning.  He went into attic and recommended the best place for the placement to avoid any rework in the attic.  Next day he sent me a quote and we got started.  Ladd is very trustworthy and only does one job at the time and he does them personally.  I gave him the key to our house for three days while the work was happening.  He cleaned up every night (you would not have know he was there if it was not for the new sun tubes).   He is very thorough, and even noticed a few bathroom fans where the duct had come loose and repaired them.  Mid way through the job, I talked to him about a slow leak in the roof that I had seen (not because of any work he had done)  He promptly inspected and fixed the leak location and looked around the rest of the roof and found some gaskets missing. Ladd is a perfectionist and takes real pride in his work.  You cannot go wrong with Ladd.

*********************************************************************************************
Al & Sandy P.
Corte Madera

8/2/2013

5 Stars
Mr. Skylight Ladd replaced the glass in our 20 year old skylights, which had lost its seal and was cloudy and he also fixed the motor. The motor is no longer available, but Ladd had salvaged parts from prior work and was able to rebuild the motor so it would work. Since he had to take the glass out he also sanded and repainted the frames which were pretty shabby. He covered the counters, cabinets and floors while he worked and cleaned up when he was done. While he was here, I discovered that he also installs solar attic fans, my solar fans had quit working so Ladd installed new ones. These fans are also wired to the electric system and continue to work if there is no sun. Once again he did a great job of installing them and wiring them. They have lowered the temperature in the attics by 10 to 15 degrees. He takes pride in his work and treats you like a friend. We are happy to recommend Ladd, Mr. Skylight.                  

Al & Sandy P.
*********************************************************************************************

Ben Yamanaka
Marin Yacht Club

8/3/2013

5 Stars

After an accident where a person fell through a skylight in our dining room, Mr. Skylight was very responsive and came out the same day to replace the broken skylight.   He had the product in stock and within a few hours had the skylight replaced and looking better then ever.    Mr. Skylight was professional, responsive and affordable.
Ben Yamanaka
Marin Yacht Club

*********************************************************************************************
Maria P.
Santa Clara, CA and Sausalito, CA

5 Stars
 
7/24/2013

We hired Ladd (aka Mr. Skylight) to replace an old, rather large and non-standard sized, fixed dome skylight in our home office; and a second, smaller old dome skylight in our main bathroom.  We had quite a problem keeping our house cool on warm days, particularly in our office where the old skylight let in both the sun's light and heat.  The heat in the room was unbearable in the afternoons, and was causing a greater heat problem for the rest of the house.

Ladd suggested replacing our skylights with new Velux skylights - two operable motorized Velux skylights for the office, and a third venting skylight for our bathroom.  The motorized models came with light filtering blinds, and the windows close automatically when it rains.  He felt that it would be a great way to address at least some of the issues we were having with heat.  He explained that a venting skylight allows warm air rising toward the ceiling to escape. The ventilation would provide natural cooling for the house on hot days.

We checked with other skylight installers, and thought that Ladd's quote was the best. He gave us a long list of references, and everyone we called loved his work.  He also impressed us with his thoroughness when he assessed the project, and even noticed that we had a switch for our attic fan without an indicator light.  He offered to change that for us when he did the install (which he did!).  We decided not to do the venting skylight in the bathroom, but went with a fixed Velux skylight there, and also the two suggested motorized skylights for our office.

The arrangements, ordering of the parts and the install went smoothly as planned.  The skylights look great and work like a charm.  The office now maintains a perfect temperature and the look of the skylights is a definite improvement.  The heat problem is completely gone in our office and makes a big difference for the rest of the house.

Ladd did an excellent job, cleaned up after himself and his crew, and completed the install on time.  And, he became best friends with our family dog in the process.  I would absolutely hire Ladd again if we had the need!

Maria
Santa Clara, CA and Sausalito, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
6/24/2013

We had Mr Skylight replace 2 leaking skylights.
Great service. On time. Extremely knowledgeable. I would highly recommend him.



*********************************************************************************************
5 Stars

Eric R.
Fairfax, CA
 
6/23/2013

Mr Skylight (aka..Ladd) Rocks!
He came out to our beloved home in freaky Fairfax and did an amazing
job installing a skylight in our garage. Ladd advised me as to placement, style and size, all done in on time and budget...Ladd is a very honest man to work with.
I have already referred him to friends.
Thanks Ladd....

Eric R.
Fairfax

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
Janet S.
San Rafael, CA
 
6/23/2013
I had my two old leaky skylights replace by Ladd at Mr Skylight.  Ladd recommended that I replace them with skylights that open and was he every right!  Ladd did a fantastic job, showing up exactly when he said he would, taking exactly the time he said he would to do the job and the job he did was great.  Now I open my skylights every day, letting out the hot air and bringing in the nice cool lucas valley breeze.  I highly recommend that anyone interested in replacing or installing skylights give Ladd at Mr Skylight a call and talk to him about your needs.  He listens, make recommendations and is reasonably priced.  Thanks Ladd!
 
*********************************************************************************************
5 Stars

Bonnie P.
Greenbrae, CA
 
5/29/2013

Mr. Skylight just finished installing three custom skylights at our house.  Two open to allow hot air out in the summer!  He was great, from the first meeting here.  The measurements, materials, and installation were all professional.  Thank you Mr. Skylight!

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
 
Warren B.
Santa Rosa, CA
 
5/18/2013

Ladd, the owner of Mr Skylight, just completed the addition of a skylight in our Santa Rosa home and we are very pleased with the quality of the work and Ladd himself.  He gave us a very competitive price , and was very careful in both the install and CLEANUP. It was a difficult job because we have All- Hart Redwood ceilings and the new install had to blend in perfectly...He did an exceptionally  nice job. He was on time a always returned calls in a timely manner,  and was a overall nice man. In addition we had a attic fan installed on his recommendation and it has made a big difference in cooling our garage.

Warren B.
Santa Rosa, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Michael L.
San Francisco, CA
 
8/19/2012

Ladd, "Mr. Skylight," did a great job installing skylights in our house in San Francisco.    We got energy efficient ones that open and close with a remote control -- very cool!   Also, they have shades that retract when we don't need the sun-protection.   The skylights are made by Velux.    Ladd was amazing -- very responsive, worked with us to find a creative solution, and was fast and efficient.    He takes pride in his work, which really shows.     Highly recommend Mr. Skylight!

Michael L. (San Francisco, CA)
 
*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Renata H.
Novato, CA
 
7/20/2012

Ladd did an excellent job replacing my old, cracked, domed skylight with a new Velux electrically operated remote-controlled skylight and shade.  Thankfully, I'm no longer roasting in the kitchen in the summer.  Ladd also recommended solar attic fans which have further reduced the indoor temperature by about 10 degrees on hot days.  I highly recommend his courteous, efficient and professional service.

Renata H.
Novato, CA
 
*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Jon G.
Reno, NV
 
5/9/2012

Ladd is all about quality. Quality skylights, quality work, and superior customer relations. What a pleasure it was to work with a consummate professional.

Jon G.
Reno, NV

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Kathy T.
San Rafael, CA
 
3/20/2012

I was looking for someone to replace a skylight in my entryway.  Mr. Skylight promptly returned my phone call and came to my house and provided me with an estimate in a very timely manner.   He provided me with a list of references as well. I contacted a few of them and they gave him high marks for quality of work.   He recommended a new screen for a skylight in my kitchen which I purchased and am happy with.  For the entryway, he gave me the price for an entire new skylight and  one which would keep the existing frame but replace the glass.  To keep costs down,  I chose to keep the existing frame which he painted (at no extra  cost) and he cleaned both my entryway and kitchen skylight.  I was very happy with the cost, product, and extras that were provided. He wants to make the customer happy and he did.

Kathy T.
San Rafael, CA

*********************************************************************************************
 
5 Stars
 
D R.
San Rafael, CA
 
7/10/2011

Mr. Skylight has carried out two projects for us, replacement of our skylight caps and supply and installation of an attic fan.  He and his staff performed both jobs professionally, promptly, and at reasonable prices.  The skylight caps withstood the heavy 2011 spring rains in San Rafael with nary a leak.  Their installation was exemplary, and their appearance is excellent.  I called him about the attic fan the day before writing this.  Today he installed it, again flawlessly, and also suggested a grill from the second floor hall ceiling into the attic.  The grill provides an effect similar to a whole-house fan, at a fraction of the cost.  We are extremely pleased with his products and his services, and recommend him without reservation.

D R.
San Rafael, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Annette M.
San Rafael, CA

6/13/2011

Mr Skylight was great. He installed four beautiful skylights, screens, and shades. He had to build a structure to support the new skylights and his work is precise and beautiful. His estimates for time and materials were accurate and he started and finished the work right on schedule.
We are VERY happy and recommend him highly for your skylight projects!

Annette M.
San Rafael, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
 
Betsy B.
Orinda, CA
 
6/6/2011

Ladd (Mr. Skylight) does excellent work and attends to every detail, including non-out-gassing of aluminum screens, leak prevention, aesthetics, the particular needs of the customer. Couldn't recommend him any more highly.

Betsy B.
Orinda, CA
 
*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Derek W.
Sebastopol, CA
 
5/27/2011

I would like to express how happy I am with the new skylights Mr. Skylight installed. His attention to every aesthetic and technical detail is impeccable! His workmanship is that of a perfectionist.

The quality of the installation was as critical as the skylights. We expected a clean, finished result for both the interior and exterior. Mr. Skylight surpassed other previous contractors in his immediate knowledge of skylights and the roofing process to ensure a proper installation. His expertise and knowledge eliminated all anxiety about choosing our skylights and gave us complete confidence in his recommendations.

With the replacement of our older skylights, we did not expect such a difference, but the difference in the quality of light and interior beauty was immediately apparent. Our home is more beautiful inside and out as a direct result of Mr. Skylight's craftsmanship.

Derek W.
Sebastopol, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Suzanne A.
Mill Valley, CA
 
5/17/2011

Ladd is really knowledgeable and responsive.  The first time I called Mr. Skylight was 4 years ago; we had had a skylight completely blow off its hinges and off the roof, and it was threatening to rain.  He came right away, fixed it well, identified several problems with the way several other skylights had been installed - and didn't charge us an arm and a leg.  When another motorized skylight started sounding funny this year, I called him again.  Once again, great service, great job, great price.

Suzanne A.
Mill Valley, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Jack C.
Mill Valley, CA
 
4/17/2011

Ladd is terrific.  Incredibly knowledgable, and very thorough in not taking shortcuts on challenging roof installations like ours.  We are very pleased with his fine craftsmanship and attention to detail in installing our home's skylights.

Jack C. and Karen
Mill Valley

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
 
Don K. and Alice L.
Fairfax, CA
 
4/12/2011

Mr. Skylight put a tubular skylight in our kitchen and we are !00% happy with it. He also put a solar operated fan in our attic that keeps the roof from being too hot. We are saving our coppers so that we can have Mr. Skylight install another tubular skylight in our hallway.

Don K. and Alice L.
Fairfax, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
 
Marco I.
San Anselmo, CA
 
4/11/2011

We had a cracked, old domed skylight.  After a bit of Googling, I found a few businesses who offered to repair/replace.  Mr. Skylight was the first to respond to my calls.  He was personable and obviously very knowledgeable.  He was availble the same week for an on-site estimate. He was on time and made sure we knew all the options.  We ended up ordering a custom product.  It was delivered and custom installed on time and on budget

But it gets better... While Mr. Skylight was on the roof, he noted some flashing and caulking around our chimney and vents was looking old.  So he fixed them.  And he painted them to match the roof.  Charged us for materials only.  Said he couldn't leave our roof with a visible issue.

A few months later, we had a leak in the area of the skylight.  Called Mr. Skylight and left a message on a Friday evening.  He came out the next (SATURDAY) morning in the pouring rain, figured out the problem and came up with a solution.  Turned out it wasn't the skylight, it was a kitchen exhaust fan vent.  But he still took care of business.

We've had to work with several contractors and handymen at our home over the last few years.  Mr. Skylight was the absolute best.  The BEST.
5 stars.  Squared.

Marco I.
San Anselmo, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Thomas M.
Sausalito, CA
 
3/31/2011

Honest, conscientious, fair, professional, competent - words not strong enough to describe Ladd and his work.  He's replaced all our skylights.  I recommended him to my neighbor.  He brought a new skylight and reseated her existing skylights.  In the process he encountered some problems and stayed until 10:30 night on a hot summer night working with flashlights to fix her other skylights.  That says it all!

Thomas M.
Sausalito, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
 
George A.
San Anselmo, CA
 
3/31/2011

If you're on budget or fixing a rental property Mr. Skylight might have a refurbished unit in stock. He installed 2 on my home and I will probably get a good 12-15 years life from them. Also casually mentioned that I needed gutters. He scoped the work, gave me an excellent bid and completed the work while I was away on vacation. Hardworking and honest as they come.

George A.
San Anselmo, CA
 
*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Valerie F.
Woodacre, CA
 
3/31/2011

Our experience with Ladd, aka Mr. Skylight, was great.  We were pleased with the work and Ladd's wealth of knowledge regarding various skylight options.  Highly recommend you get an estimate from Mr. Skylight if you are in the market to add or replace skylights in your home or business.

Valerie F.
Woodacre, CA
 
*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Kathleen M.
Ross, CA
 
3/30/2011
This company is excellent. We were VERY satisfied. In fact, his customer service is outstanding, for any kind of business. This is rare to find these days!

Kathleen M.
Ross, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Ida B.
Belvedere/Tiburon, CA
 
3/30/2011

I have recently had the pleasure of meeting Ladd of Mr. Skylight.  He installed a motorized Velux skylight in our bathroom.  Ladd was very professional and his knowledge of skylight installation is remarkable. Not only does the skylight look fantastic on the inside, the skylight even looks great from the outside. Very clean installation and it looks like the skylight was installed when the roof was installed. I would highly recommend Ladd for any and all of your skylight needs. He's fantastic!

Ida B.
Belvedere/Tiburon, CA
 
*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars

Patrice H.
Fairfax, CA
 
3/28/2011

Mr. Skylight installed a Velux remote controlled skylight in our house in Fairfax and it has been perfect!  Notable because we recently had 28 days of heavy rain, wind, hail and our house is ver 100 years old. We have had 0-zero-0 problems with the skylight or the attic fan- both installed by Ladd at Mr Skylight. We give him the highest rating- highly recommended!

Patrice H. and Charlie
Fairfax, CA

*********************************************************************************************

5 Stars
 
Julie B.
San Rafael, CA
 
6/30/2010

We had an oddly placed large skylight directly over a 2 story set of stairs. Heat gain from sun in summer was overwhelming so we wanted to get a sliding shade covering for it with a telescoping pole to use to open and close it. Because of the odd placement it was not just any 2-day blind kind of place that I wanted to hire  because i needed someone bright enough to not wreck the staircase, the walls or the banisters when installing it or worse yet...all off  the ladder!  We called Mr. Skylight...he did it quick...much quicker than expected. Price not cheap but there was absolutely no wrecking of my house, carpets etc like with so many other workers and he did it correctly and quickly.

Julie B.
San Rafael, CA





5 Stars
6/26/2015
Ladd recently replaced two very old skylights in our home with new solar powered remote controlled venting skylights with solar powered light filtering blinds.  They are wonderful and are providing much needed ventilation on these hot summer days.  Ladd was extremely helpful and knowledgable and provided us with a lot of information about all our different options.  The installation was professional and efficient.  We are very happy and would highly recommend Mr. Skylight!
Natasha and Kevin K.
Fairfax, CA
*****************************************************
5 Stars
6/9/2015
Thanks to "Mr. Skylight" for installing three new operable skylights  - one custom built - in our new home.  Fast, friendly and excellent quality.
Lane K.
Mill Valley, CA
*****************************************************
5 Stars
5/15/2015
Ladd was very punctual in getting us a quote and also on the timing of the job to install 2 skylights.  Very happy with quality of work the the new product in our house.

Would absolutely recommend Ladd for skylight needs.
Gary from
San Rafael, CA
*****************************************************
5 Stars
12/9/2014
I'm sure there are plenty of skylight installers out there, but my advice to you is to stop looking around and called Ladd at Mr. Skylight. I first spoke to Ladd in January 2013 about my intention to bring more natural light into the living room. He came to our house and spent over an hour crawling in the attic, drawing, taking notes, measurements and pictures, and giving me different options and ideas. He followed up the next week with a quote of the 3 options I requested. 
Well, my 2nd daughter was born that month and our household was quickly consumed by the baby. It wasn't until July 2014 when I called up Ladd again to tell him that I was ready to move forward. He came out again, with his notes from our meeting 18 months prior, still remembering what my wife does for a living and my daughters' name (I'm sure he wrote it down, but still impressive). We crawled into the attic to measure again, and then he put blue tape on the living room ceiling to mark the perimeter of the 4 ft by 4ft skylight that I wanted installed. He walked outside the house to look at the roof, to make sure the blue tape was positioned exactly right. It was off by 2 inches. There were some peculiarities in how the rafters were framed in the house, which called for some creativity to position the skylight in a way that would, in his words, look like it's been there since day 1. He came back inside, got on the step ladder and adjusted all sides of the tape. Still off by an inch, and he adjusted it again. It was then when I was certain I had hired the right guy, as most other contractors will probably just say "well, just imagine this blue square a couple inches to the right".

In the end, we had the skylight and a sun tunnel installed. The work was done when we were on vacation. When we came back, you could not tell that a skylight job had been done if you didn't look at the skylight. The place was so thoroughly swept and vacuumed that I didn't need to ask my cleaners to make a special trip to clean the house, something I had intended to do.

The skylight is beautiful. The shaft is expertly flared and I can't be more happy with Ladd's work.

Henry and Angela M.
San Rafael, CA

Yelp.com
12/3/2014
Dear Ladd,
I just wanted to tell you how very grateful I am for your kindness yesterday.  That you took the time on such a rainy day, to come all the way out to our house, go up on the wet roof and in addition to checking out the skylights, that you fixed the plastic up there and then later even gave me some plastic to protect the furniture in our house- was so kind!  I also wanted to tell you that through that very wet and strong storm last night, not a drop of water came in the house!
You saved the house from water damage this week and also, took away our worries and gave me a good night's sleep!  Thank you for being such a good person.
Lisa 
San Rafael, CA



Yelp.com
5 Stars
10/13/2014
We are so happy with our 2 new kitchen skylights, 2 replacement skylights and a sun tube.  Kudos to Mr. Skylight and his crew!  He was thorough, efficient, neat and tidy and completed the entire project within the time he estimated it would take.  He and his crew each morning sealed off the affected area and cleaned up at the end of the day so we could continue to use our kitchen throughout the project.  He also did electrical work to accommodate new ceiling lighting and sconces.  Of great importance to us was that Mr. Skylight himself  was on the job everyday, all day til completed, doing the majority of the work himself.  He is responsive, methodical and does excellent work. We recommend him and his business.
Shirley & Tom H.
Petaluma, CA


Yelp.com
5 Stars
9/26/2014
Ladd Bogdonoff, Mr. Skylight, recently replaced four skylights for me.  He responded quickly to my telephone calls and the job was completed within a couple of weeks start to finish, from production of the estimate, ordering of the skylights and then the installation.  The old skylights were removed and the new ones installed - with absolutely no mess or disruption.  He placed tarps underneath each skylight and cleaned up perfectly.  He and his crew worked quickly and efficiently - and were a pleasure to deal with.  I would recommend his work.
Penny P.
San Rafael


Yelp.com
5 Stars
9/19/2014
Ladd was a consummate professional from start to finish. He advised us well, delivered exceptional work, explained everything so we could understand it, found a great deal for us, took extra care to make sure our floors and furniture were protected, finished on time, made sure we got a rebate, and always came in with a sparkle in his eyes. It was a pleasure working with him.
Gwen G.
Woodacre

Yelp.com
5 Stars
9/2/2014
Ladd was responsive and meticulous. He does great work. And he's fast! I found him to be very trustworthy and reliable--showing up when he said he would. We are so happy with our skylights!
Kelly B.
Corte Madera

Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
5/28/2014 
Ladd did a great job in tight quarters. A challenging job, but all went exceedingly well.
We are delighted with our new skylight!
Patti B. and Stan R.
​Fairfax, CA (Canyon Village)

Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
1/27/2014
Mr. Skylight went above and beyond with replacing our old skylights.  He communicated often as to the whereabouts of our new shipment of skylights.  His quote was clearly laid out and the price was fair and competitive.  On site, he took great care in making the skylights look brand new (even though it was just the dome being replaced) and left the house as clean as when he got there.  I would highly recommend Mr. skylight.
Shannon W.
San Anselmo, CA


Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
12/6/2013 
I feel like I am unmasking a superhero when I say that Ladd Bogdonoff is Mr. Skylight! We were looking to replace two old, cracked skylights in our home -- one in the kitchen and the other in the living room. I was impressed with Ladd from the first phone call as he listened to my wants and issues, offered advice and thoughts on possible solutions, and scheduled an appointment for that same afternoon. The most amazing thing was that he actually showed up on time! A true rarity for Marin county contractors!!
Ladd was very detailed in both examining our space and making recommendations that would solve our problems -- sweat from the current skylights, level of light in the house, operable units to increase summer air circulation, etc. Estimate came promptly laying out the full variety of options we had discussed. Ladd's professionalism, promptness, great communications made me feel very comfortable in contracting with him for the work.
Ladd's wonderful attention to detail was very evident during the installation as well. He looked over my entire roof, not just the openings for the skylights, offering a few tips and solutions unrelated to the work he was doing. He shared with me that he oversees each and every job on-site and is completely hands on. The install occurred on time, the detail work (he caulked and painted all the wood framing inside the house as well, making everything around the install look new and perfect) was impeccable, and he left my home cleaner than when he first arrived.

If you are looking for new skylights, or anything related, Mr. Skylight is indeed the way to go. Thanks again Ladd! 


Ken F.
San Rafael, CA

Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating

10/21/2013
Mr. Skylight and his crew are a delight.  The work they did was impeccable and their personal attention to detail, cleanliness, and the overall environment was truly special.  Excellent service, excellent work and a real pleasure.  Also extensive knowledge of the field, efficient consultation and prompt service. Five stars for sure.
Gail S.
​Inverness, CA

Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
San Francisco, CA

8/19/2012
Ladd, "Mr. Skylight," did a great job installing skylights in our house in San Francisco. We got energy efficient ones that open and close with a hand held remote confrol, very cool!
   Also, they have shades that retract when we don't need the sun-protection. The skylights are made by Velux. Ladd was amazing -- very responsive, worked with us to find a creative solution, and was fast and efficient. He takes pride in his work, which really shows. Highly recommend Mr. Skylight!
Michael L.
San Francisco, CA

Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
Novato, CA
7/20/2012
Ladd did an excellent job replacing my old, cracked, domed skylight with a new Velux electrically operated remote-controlled glass skylight and light filtering shade. Thankfully, I'm no longer roasting in the kitchen during the summer. Ladd also recommended two solar attic fans which reduced the indoor temperature about 10 degrees-on hot days. I highly recommend his courteous, efficient and professional service.
Renata H.

Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
Reno, NV

5/9/2012
Ladd is all about quality. Quality skylights, quality work, and superior customer relations. What a pleasure it was to work with a consumate professional.
John G.

Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
San Rafael, CA

3/20/2012
I was looking for someone to replace a skylight in my entryway. Mr. Skylight promptly returned my phone call and came to my house and provided me with an estimate in a very timely manner.  He provided me with a list of references as well. I contacted a few of them and they gave him high marks for quality of work. He recommended a new screen for a skylight in my kitchen which I purchased and am happy with.  For the entryway, he gave me the price for an entire new skylight and  one which would keep the existing frame but replace the glass. To keep costs down,  I chose to keep the existing frame which he painted (at no extra  cost) and he cleaned both my entryway and kitchen skylight. I was very happy with the cost, product, and extras that were provided. He wants to make the customer happy and he did.
Kathy T.

Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
San Rafael 

6/13/2011

Mr Skylight was great! He installed four beautiful skylights, screens, and shades. He had to custom build a structure to support the new skylights and his work is precise and beautiful. His estimates for time and materials were accurate and he started and finished the work right on schedule.

We are VERY happy and recommend him highly for your skylight projects!

Anne M.


Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
Sebastopol, CA

5/27/2011

I would like to express how happy I am with the new skylights Mr. Skylight installed. His attention to every aesthetic and technical detail is impeccable! His workmanship is that of a perfectionist.
 
The quality of the installation was as critical as the skylights. We expected a clean, finished result for both the interior and exterior. Mr. Skylight surpassed other previous contractors in his immediate knowledge of skylights and the roofing process to ensure a proper installation. His expertise and knowledge eliminated all anxiety about choosing our skylights and gave us complete confidence in his recommendations.
 
With the replacement of our older skylights, we did not expect such a difference, but the difference in the quality of light and interior beauty was immediately apparent. Our home is more beautiful inside and out as a direct result of Mr. Skylight's craftsmanship.
Derek W.

Yelp.com
5.0 Star Rating
Orinda, CA
6/6/2011

Ladd (Mr. Skylight) does excellent work and attends to every detail, including protecting my interior, leak prevention, aesthetics, the particular needs of the customer. Couldn't recommend him any more highly.
Betsy B.

Hello Mr Skylight,

Thanks again for our new skylights! WE LOVE THEM!  We were really impressed with your expedient, professional service and would recommend you to anyone. The job was done ahead of schedule and did not exceed the estimate. We really enjoy the two Velux skylights that open for
improved ventilation.

Best wishes,
Marc and Alison


Dear Ladd,

Thank you for the great job you did with the skylights on my roof!  I am very happy with the way they look and I am enjoying the added light, especially in the kitchen.  It always seemed light in there, but these new skylights are even better!  I appreciate your professionalism and your ability to communicate.  It was special having my sons work with you as well on the project.  I would be happy to recommend you to anyone!

Many blessings on your ministry of music and light.  I loved hearing you play my grand piano!

Regards,

Robin,
San Anselmo


Dear Ladd,

Thank you again for the great job on the skylight.  It really makes a difference in the room!

Sincerely,

Kelly


March 2011

Dear Ladd:

About 6-7 years ago you installed four skylights for us, replaced our entire roof, "vaulted" our Living Room ceiling and created a small attic with a pull-down ladder above our hallway, so we thought it was about time we gave you a letter of reference! We are still thrilled with the work you did for us and haven't had any problems with any of the work or materials you installed.  I would rate us as "ecstatic" customers!

As you may recall, our Living Room had a Northern exposure, and an 8ft. high ceiling so it was rather dark and cave-like.  We usually had to turn on the lights even at mid-day to be able to read.  We were discussing the problem with some friends, and one mentioned if we ever wanted to put in skylights, there was only one person to choose to do the work... "Mr. Skylight"... He told me you had reroofed his house and you were the cleanest, most conscientious contractor he had ever worked with... he was right!

You came out, looked over our situation and made several suggesitons for what could be done to brighten up our Living Room, Kitchen and Bathroom.  The best suggestion of all was to open up the Living Room ceiling to make it vaulted and install two operable skylights to let in more light.  This has been the single most beautiful change to our home we could have ever imagined!  We appreciated the way you used your experienced, trained eye of 30+ years to see the possibilities and to make suggestions for how to solve our lighting and ventilation needs.

The work required a couple of weeks to complete, and we were astonished that you and your crew totally cleaned up any mess every night, indoors and out, to minimize the disruption to our living spaces.  No dust, no nails on the floor, no tools lying around... that was huge!

Ladd, if you ever need a reference, please do not hesitate to have a prospective customer contact us, we will be happy to sing your praises and tell our story.  Thanks again for a job well done!

Sincerely,

Chris and Diane,
Corte Madera


Dear Ladd,

Thank you so much for coming out to the house on a Saturday morning in the rain to check our our roof leak over the Kitchen stove.  I should have guessed it had nothing to do with the skylight you replaced for us.  The Kitchen skylight is perfect and weather tight since you installed it last year.  We love the way it opens!  And thank you so much for repairing the flashing on the chimney and roof vents where the seals were cracked and aging. 

I have to say your responsiveness and service are beyond the best!  You answered our e-mail late a night on a Friday evening and were here the very next morning in the pouring rain.

We've had more than a few contractors and handymen out to the house over the last few years.  In the fifteen years of home ownership, no one has even come close to your level of responsive service, thoroughness and commitment to quality.

Please feel free to post this on your testimonials page.

Thanks again,

Marco and Natasha


In a word, Ladd is fantastic!  I recommended him to a neighbor in Larkspur, and now she praises him to the high heaven as well!  He installed three new skylights for us.  He's very conscientious and cleans up perfectly.


 Once I'd met Ladd and seen his references, I didn't even consider using another contractor.  He and his crew did an outstanding job, and I got real value for the money we spent by having them put in two beautiful skylights at the same time they put on the roof and gutters.  They really went beyond the call of duty."


 "We saw Ladd in the Good Service Guide, so we asked him to install skylights in our home.  He's easy to have around, is an excellent workman, and he provides a lot of little extras.  We're having him do our roof next.


Dear Ladd,

Thanks again for the fine work on the two skylights above our daughter's room.  The additional ventilation has really helped keep the temperature down on hot days, and I believe she's sleeping far better with the accompanying skylight black out shades to make the room darker for her naps. 


Dear Ladd, here's our "blurb" for your "brag book"!

If every contractor was a skilled and took as much pride in their work as Ladd does, our house would be in a constant state of renovation.  After searching for a skylight expert for over 4 years, we were fortunate to find Ladd.  He brought design, vision, engineering expertise and a calm demeanor to the project.  His pricing was fair, his work FANTASTIC! and he delivered results that have changed our home architecturally in a dramatic way. My wife and I are sticklers for detail and when Ladd and his crew finished the job we had no comments or requests, except. "Thank you! Now can you install new skylights in our kitchen?"

We look forward to working with Ladd again.  He is a very caring and conscientious person who worked on our home as if it were his own.  Thanks for the great work!  The title "Mr. Skylight" is well deserved.

Nico,
Mill Valley


Dear Ladd,

 
Hannah & I both love the natural light you made a way for  (in that once dismal room), and the fan was even more effective than I expected, during the recent heatwave!  You made all the right professional choices, regarding the what- and the how- of both installations (especially. with those irregular roof rafters)  I couldn't be happier with the results!
 
It meant even more to me, to have my house improved  by someone who is making such a difference in the lives of others near and far (at The Childrens Project Trust orphanage where you work in India every Christmas).

Best wishes in all that you do,
 
Becky


Ladd, here is my "testimonial".  Feel free to post it up at your website!

Dear Ladd,
 
I am so happy with the replacement of my old skylight in the kitchen, and all the hard work and perseverance you put into making it perfect.  Everything about my dealings with you was positive – you are smart, articulate, pleasant, prompt, indefatigable, very reasonably priced, and highly skilled.  You had to overcome quite a few obstacles to get everythingcompleted and you met each challenge with grace, charm and a willingness to do whatever it took to do the job right, including staying late into the night not once, but twice, this week!  I really appreciate both the effort and the beautiful result.
 
Many people have had unpleasant experiences with home contractors and know how hard it can be when someone doesn’t show up on time, or doesn’t care about the work they do.  They need have no such fear in hiring you.  You are a consummate professional and your work is literally and figuratively a RAY of SUNSHINE in my home.  I would highly recommend you to anyone looking to have a new skylight installed or an old one fixed.  Feel free to give your prospective customers my name and telephone number, and I’ll happily tell them how great you are.  You are TERRIFIC and the world should know about you!

Andy,
Corte Madera


Dear Ladd,

Thanks!  We love the new operable skylights in our office!  See  you soon for the new pyramid skylight over the stariwell.

Marc and Allison,
San Rafael


Dear Ladd,

The new operable electric skylight you installed is working perfectly, as is the attic fan. The past few days the temperature has been in the high 90"s and we are glad to be able to open the skylight and let that super heated air escape.

Best wishes, and thank you again,

Patice and Charlie,
Fairfax


Yelp.com
Mill Valley
5.0 Star Rating

5/17/2011

Ladd is really knowledgeable and responsive.  The first time I called "Mr. Skylight" was 4 years ago; We had had a skylight completely blow off its hinges and off the roof, and it was threatening to rain.  He came right away, fixed it securely, identified several problems with the way several other skylights had been installed - and didn't charge us an arm and a leg.  When another motorized skylight started sounding funny this year, I called him again.  Once again, he provided great service, did a great job at a great price.

Suzanne A.


Yelp.com
Mill Valley
5.0 Star Rating

4/17/2011
 
Ladd is terrific.  Incredibly knowledgable, and very thorough in not taking shortcuts on challenging roof
installations like ours.  We are very pleased with his fine craftsmanship and attention to detail in installing our home's skylights.

Jack and Karen


Yelp.com
5.0 star rating

4/12/2011
 
Mr. Skylight put a tubular skylight in our kitchen and we are !00% happy with it. He also put a solar operated fan in our attic that keeps the roof from being too hot. We are saving our coppers so that we can have Mr. Skylight install another tubular skylight in our hallway.

Don and Alice.
Fairfax, CA


Yelp.com
San Anselmo, CA
5.0 star rating

4/11/2011
 
We had a cracked, old domed skylight.  After a bit of Googling, I found a few businesses who offered to repair/replace.  Mr. Skylight was the first to respond to my calls.  He was personable and obviously very knowledgeable.  He was availble the same week for an on-site estimate. He was on time and made sure we knew all the options.  We ended up ordering a custom product.  It was delivered and custom installed on time and on budget
 
But it gets better...
While Mr. Skylight was on the roof, he noted some flashing and caulking around our chimney and vents was looking old.  So he fixed them.  And he painted them to match the roof.  Charged us for materials only.  Said he couldn't leave our roof with a visible issue.
 
A few months later, we had a leak in the area of the skylight.  Called Mr. Skylight and left a message on a Friday evening.  He came out the next (SATURDAY) mornng in the pouring rain, figured out the problem and came up with a solution.  Turned out it wasn't the skylight, it was a vent.  But he still took care of business.
 
We've had to work with several contractors and handymen at our home over the last few years.  Mr. Skylight was the absolute best.  The BEST.

Thanks again, Ladd

Marco
San Anselmo


Yelp.com
5.0 star rating

3/31/2011
 
Honest, conscientious, fair, professional, competent - words not strong enough to describe Ladd and his work.  He's replaced all our skylights.  I recommended him to my neighbor.  He brought a new skylight and reseated her existing skylights.  In the process he encountered some problems and stayed until 10:30 night on a hot summer night working with flashlights to fix her other skylights.  That says it all!

Thomas M.
Sausalito


Yelp.com
5.0 star rating

3/31/2011
 
If on budget or fixing a rental property Mr. Skylight might have a refurbished unit in stock. He installed 2 on my home and I will probably get a good 12-15 years life from them. Also casually mentioned that I needed gutters. He scoped the work, gave me an excellent bid and completed the work while I was away on vacation. Hardworking and honest as they come.

George A.
San Anselmo, CA


Yelp.com
5.0 star rating

3/31/2011
 
Our experience with Ladd, aka Mr. Skylight, was great.  We were pleased with the work and Ladd's wealth of knowledge regarding various skylight options.  Highly recommend you get an estimate from Mr. Skylight if you are in the market to add or replace skylights in your home or business.

Valerie F.
Woodacre, CA


Yelp.com
Ross, CA
5.0 star rating

3/30/2011
 
This company is excellent. We were VERY satisfied. In fact, his customer service is outstanding, for any kind of business. This is rare to find these days!

Kathleen M.


Yelp.com
5.0 star rating

3/30/2011
 
I have recently had the pleasure of meeting Ladd of Mr. Skylight.  He installed a skylight in our bathroom.  Ladd was very professional and his knowledge of skylight installation is remarkable. Not only does the skylight look fantastic on the inside, the skylight even looks great from the outside. Very clean installation and it looks like the skylight was installed when the roof was installed. I would highly recommend Ladd for any and all of your skylight needs. He's fantastic.

Ida B.
Belvedere Tiburon, CA


Yelp.com
5.0 star rating

3/28/2011
 
Mr. Skylight installed a Velux remote controlled skylight in our house in Fairfax and it has been perfect! Notable because we recently had 28 days of heavy rain, wind, hail and our house is over 100 years old. we have had 0-zero-0 problems with the skylight or the attic fan- both installed by Ladd Bogdonoff at Mr. Skylight. highest rating- highly recommended.

Patrice H.
Fairfax, CA


Yelp.com
4.0 star rating

6/30/2010
 
We had an oddly placed large skylight directly over a 2 story set of stairs. Heat gain from sun in summer was overwhelming so wanted to get a solar shade for it with a pole to use to control open and close. Because of odd placement it was not just any 2-day blind kind of place that I wanted to hire  because i needed someone bright enough to not wreck the staircase, the walls or the banisters when installing it or worse yet-fall off  the ladder. We called Mr. Skylight. He came out right away and completed the work much quicker than expected. Price not cheap but there was absolutely no wrecking of my house, carpets etc like with so many other workers and he did it correctly and quickly.

Julie B.
San Rafael, CA

"Mr. Skylight!"

SKYLIGHTS
SOLAR SHADES
SOLAR ATTIC FANS

A Division of ATMA Enterprises, Inc.

42 Greenfield Avenue
San Anselmo, California 94960


(415) 454-8600  

Ladd@mrskylight.com

YP Reviews